Skip navigation and jump directly to page content

 IU Trident Indiana University

Below is a sampling of some of the most important awards and distinctions given to faculty and staff of the Pervasive Technology Institute since its formation near the end of 2008:

Year Award URL

Beth Plale elected chair of the Technical Advisory Board of Research Data Alliance


Beth Plale selected as General Chair for two highly-selective prestigious conferences, ACM High Performance Distributed Computing Conference (HPDC14) and International Provenance Workshop (IPAW'14)


Martin Swany selected to chair the High Performance Distributed Computing 2014 (HPDC14) Conference Workshop


Marlon Pierce selected to join the Apache Software Foundation


Filippo Menczer named ISI Fellow

Filippo Menczer named an ACM Distinguished Scientist

Thomas Sterling named the first recipient of the HPC Vanguard Award

Thomas Sterling recognized as one of HPC community's "people to watch."

Craig A. Stewart was named general chair of the IEEE Cluster 2013 Conference (hosted by IU in Indianapolis).  Thomas Sterling was keynote speaker.

IUanyWare received a Technology in Education Excellence & Innovation Award at the 2013 Techpoint Mira Awards.

T. Georgiev and A. Lumsdaine awarded four patents


David Crandall receives NSF CAREER award


A Silver Medallion Poster award was given to an NCGAS poster presented by Drs. Barnett and LeDuc at the American Medical Informatics Association 2013 Summit on Translational Bioinformatics


CREST graduate student, Abhishek Kulkarni, presented “Optimizing latency and throughput for spawning processes on massively multicore processors” at the 2012 International Workshop on Runtime and Operating Systems for Supercomputers held in Venice, Italy in June 2012. The paper was awarded Best Paper and was co-authored by CREST Director Andrew Lumsdaine, Michael Lang, and Latchesar Ionkov.

Devarshi Ghoshal, Indiana University Data to Insight Center Research Assistant and Lavanya Ramakrishnan, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA won the Best Paper Award at the DataCloud 2012 Workshop during The International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis (Supercomputing/SC12) in Salt Lake City, UT, USA.
2012 QuakeSim, an Indiana University supported collection of online data and tools from NASA's Jet Propulsion, was a recipient of NASA's 2012 Software of the Year Award.
2012 Paper co-authored by IU cybersecurity expert among top 20 on HPDC list (Welch)
2012 IU’s Suresh Marru invited to join Apache Software Foundation
2012 IU cybersecurity fellow named one of world’s top young innovators by MIT publication (Soghoian)
2012 Thomas Sterling selected "Best Speaker" at the 2012 International Supercomputing Conference in Hamburg, Germany
2012 Andrew Lumsdaine Awarded New Patent
2012 Geoffrey Fox named ACM Fellow
2012 Judy Qiu awarded CAREER grant by Nastional Science Foundation
2012 David Hancock named inaugural vice chair of the XSEDE Service Providers Forum
2011 Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research names deputy director (Welch)
2011 CLEAR Health Information directors named top U.S. privacy advisors (Cate)
2011 Five IU professors promoted to distinguished rank (Fox)
2011 IU Maurer School of Law professor named to oversight council for online adult content (Cate)
2011 IU-backed software contributes to world’s fastest supercomputer (Lumsdaine)
2011 Stephen Simms elected to OpenSFS board
2011 Matthew Link elected member of IEEE/ACM Supercomputing Conference Steering Committee, for a term of three years from 2011-2014
2011 Craig Stewart chosen general chair of inaugural XSEDE conference
2011 World's largest computing society honors IU's Fox for high performance research, diversity efforts
2010 Vespignani invited to present complex networks seminar as part of Oxford seminar series
2010 Informatics honors outstanding alumni at annual awards banquet (Connelly)
2010 IU Open Systems Lab researchers receive top honor for paper on system noise (Lumsdaine)
2010 David Hancock named vice president of SPXXL user group for large IBM installations
2009 Informatics professors' WiFi malware study published in top journal (Vespignani)
2009 Cate elected president of Phi Beta Kappa
2009 Sterling to be inaugural speaker for Peebles Lectures in IT
2009 Geoffrey Fox named among “People to Watch” by HPCwire
2008-2009 Beth Plale named Fellow, CIC Academic Leadership Program